Precious the Cat Takes a Dive


by:  Bill Winterholer

I became interested in raising fish not long after I moved into the home we’re in now and began a garden pond. In my pond I had goldfish, and became interested in the many species of goldfish. During the winter I began to keep Orandas in a 29 gallon tank in my basement. There were two redcaps in the tank.

I had a Whisper filter attached to the end of the tank and covered it with a piece of plexiglass. This glass was 1/4 inch thick and covered the whole tank, except for about two inches at one end where the filter was hung. Unfortunately, my cat Precious liked to perch upon the plexiglass and stab her paws at the fish as they passed by. I was constantly chasing her off of the tank, as I was fearful she would kill the fish.

One evening, perplexed after having chased her off for the third time, I finally removed the plexiglass and in its place stretched out a sheet of Saran wrap. My wife knowingly grabbed a bunch of towels from the hamper in the bathroom and we sat down – my wife to watch a TV show, and I to do my usual computer chores.

Not more than twenty minutes later I was distracted by the sound of a SPLASH, then the howl of a very, VERY angry cat hauling her soaked self out of a fish tank. Water was EVERYWHERE, and when we tried to approach her, towels in hand to dry her off, she bared fangs and unsheathed claws. She knew what we had done to her and wasn’t liking it, but Precious never dared perch herself on the tank again!

Hope this brings a smile to your face.

 

If you are interested in kids aquariums, log in to KidsAquariums.com

Leave a Reply

